On Beyond Cancer

My life with metastatic breast cancer

My hair on Halaven August 30, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — onbeyondcancer @ 9:00 am
Tags: ,

Who remembers the 1980s public service announcements for drug prevention where they fried the egg?  This is your brain…this is your brain on drugs.  Haha.  So my hair on Halaven is something like that.

 

You may remember that I decided to get a buzz cut during my second cycle.  Since then, my hair has continued to fall out, but slowly.  Most of the shedding happens a couple of days after an infusion.  At this point I have about 25% of my hair left, distributed quite evenly.  The remaining hair does seem to be growing too, so Mike buzzed it again for me to 1/4 inch. It’s a bit less shocking for the kids since I do have “some” hair still left; better than being bald entirely. I’m also quite thankful to have eyebrows and eyelashes.  Halaven hair loss has been quite different than my previous chemo related hair loss with the Taxotere, Adriamycin, and Cytoxan combo.

 

4 Responses to “My hair on Halaven”

  1. So, if you happened to let it grow out, would it look just really thin, or with bald spots? And do you lose some each cycle?

    I never realized hair loss from chemo could come in varieties. Interesting…

    • It would just be really thin and you could see through to my scalp. I do seem to lose a bit more each cycle. I didn’t know there were different kinds of hair loss either. With the chemo I had 3 years ago they told me I would definitely lose all my hair and even what day it would start falling out. I knew this drug was a 50/50 chance. It would really be interesting if they could figure out how to predict it…

  2. Aunt Cindy Says:

    HaHa! so you are saying your hair looks like mine does naturally!!!


Leave a comment