On Beyond Cancer

My life with metastatic breast cancer

Goldilocks and the 3 pain patches August 19, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — onbeyondcancer @ 7:33 pm
goldilocks-and-the-three-bears-story-3

Hoping I find the blue chair soon.

I’ve been having a lot of trouble with pain management this week.  I started Fentanyl patches for pain about 2 weeks ago.   They worked well for awhile, but then the pain, especially from my abdomen, increased.  My doctor recommended switching from 25 mcg (micrograms) to 50.  While I was waiting to get the prescription for the 50, Dr T said to wear two 25 patches together, so I used all but one in the box.  As it happened, fifty was just too much for  me and I was falling asleep sitting up, even when reading to Ryan.  So the dr said I should go back down to 25, then maybe try combining the 25 (lowest adult dose) with the 12.5 (children’s dose).  Cheryl picked up my new prescription for me and Mike took it to the pharmacy to fill it.  The insurance company decided it was a refill, and that I had to wait a certain number of days before they would fill it.  Argh!  That meant going a few days with no patch and just Percocet.  Do you think I might have been a little grumpy?  Also burst into tears a couple of times.  Anyhow, today I finally got the 25 +12.5=37.5.  Let’s hope it works!!

wpid-img_20140819_185633_540.jpg

The 2 patches, just under my collarbone. The pediatric one is super tiny, just to the left of the adult version.

 

7 Responses to “Goldilocks and the 3 pain patches”

  1. Margie Says:

    Hope you find the right combination – don’t like to see you in such pain. Love, Mom

  2. Robin Says:

    Grr…I hate when insurance “decides” something is a refil. I had a huge fight with them about that when I was pregnant and my doctor had upped some of my meds. I had to fight letting them know I’m out and my baby had to have it. Thankfully you have your new patches and I hope the new dose works. Good luck!

  3. Jennifer Gilbertson Says:

    I like the “comic relief” you added to your update with the Goldilocks chairs, Karissa–very clever! You definitely earned some tears here…waiting is one of the hardest things (aside from simply living with pain most days), so I can definitely empathize. It’s good that you had a solution at your finger tips though…Now You Can Grab It! Update us later and let us know how this combination is working for you. As always, don’t forget to let me know what Jay and I can do for you from Merry Ol’ Maryland! Love and hugs, Jennifer & Family

  4. So sorry to hear you are in pain because of insurance issues. I hope you will soon get the green light for using adequate pain medication.

    I recently heard about the additional use of Ritalin (methylphenidate), actually ADHD medication, to pain medication, because Ritalin stops the sleepiness/dizziness. I don’t know if it would be covered under US insurance and it is an opiate, but it may help you to keep on reading to the boys because it increases your focus.

  5. Vicki Hiers Says:

    Our thoughts and prayers are with Karissa and your family during this difficult time. Always know that God’s loving arms are wrapped around you to help provide you with the strength and courage that each of you need. – Friend of Jennifer Gilbertson

    – Vicki & Darren Hiers


Leave a Reply

