On Beyond Cancer

My life with metastatic breast cancer

Navelbine next week, Paracenteses Monday July 30, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — onbeyondcancer @ 9:07 pm

At this week’s doctor’s visit my absolute neutrophil count (a ratio of one kind of white blood cell to another), was too low for chemo.  So I’ll start Navelbine next Wednesday.  I got started with the Fentanyl patch yesterday and it has helped with pain tremendously.

 

I talked Dr. T about getting a paracenteses, we have scheduled one for Monday.

Paracentesis is a procedure to take out fluid that has collected in the belly (peritoneal fluid). This fluid buildup is called ascites .   Ascites may be caused by infection, inflammation, an injury, or other conditions, such as cirrhosis or cancer. The fluid is taken out using a long, thin needle put through the belly. The fluid is sent to a lab and studied to find the cause of the fluid buildup. Paracentesis also may be done to take the fluid out to relieve belly pressure or pain in people with cancer or cirrhosis.

 

So I am hoping this procedure will make me more comfortable, decreasing the pressure on my abdomen.

 

8 Responses to “Navelbine next week, Paracenteses Monday”

  1. Sonya Says:

    I’m glad the Fentanyl patch is working

  2. Aunt Cindy Says:

    I am so glad that you are in less pain. Sorry to hear that you will have to endure another procedure. Sending you lots of hugs and love.

  3. Glad you have less pain and I hope the paracenteses will be a reliëf. I keep my fingers crossed that vinorelbine will shrink the tumors.

  4. Kathy Clarke Says:

    This is good news – thank God – keep the faith.

  5. Aunt Amy Says:

    Sorry to hear you will have to go through another procedure but I am sure you will feel better afterwards. xo

  6. Clarke, Wilford E Says:

    Dear Karissa – Please let me know how it goes…. Love, Dad

    Bill Clarke | Senior Director, Technical Solution Architect | Cloud Services | NTT DATA Inc | 410.353.9569 | Wilford.Clarke@nttdata.com

  7. Robin Says:

    Hope the procedure goes well and it provides you some relief. And I hope your counts go back up soon so you can hope back on that chemo and shrink some tumors. Hugs!


Leave a Reply

