On Beyond Cancer

My life with metastatic breast cancer

Visiting nurses July 28, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — onbeyondcancer @ 6:46 pm
image

Visiting nurses brought, so pretty.

Sorry I haven’t been blogging much lately.  Something to do with my rising liver enzymes made hard for me to get the words in my head onto the page.  It has improved quite a bit, no idea why.  As Mike told you earlier I signed up with visiting nurses, or also called palliative care.  These nurses are experts in things like pain management, home healthcare, and helping you get necessary equipment like canes, wheelchairs, etc.  They do home visits, help figure out what you might need or want, and report back to your doctor.   My visits will be one or two times a week.

I had an intro visit Sat so I could learn about the program and my first official visit with my Nurse Mary was today.  She took my vitals and checked on (my now) significant swelling in my abdomen and feet.  She explained possible treatments for my abdominal swelling using suction to remove it (done in the hospital).  If it becomes a recurring issue, you can have a permanent tube so that you could remove the fluid at home.

The most useful part of the visit was the pain management. So far, the strongest pain med I’ve been given has been percocet.  That might be because I have difficulty with uncontrolled vomiting with some meds.  I feel like the percocet is not enough now.  Mary suggested a patch called Fentanyl.  I would start with the lowest dose and patch stays on for 3 days, slowly releasing medicine during that time. This sounds like it could be a huge help.  I’m going to start anti nausea drugs at the same time so I get get ahead on that.

 

14 Responses to “Visiting nurses”

  1. How nice of her to bring you flowers. That is really sweet. Glad you are back to your blogging. Your internet fan base missed you.

  2. Aunt Amy Says:

    Glad to hear you are feeling a little better. xo

  3. Aunt Cindy Says:

    Being stubborn comes in handy at times. Glad to hear things are a little better

  4. kymlucas Says:

    Saying a prayer for you.

  5. Sonya Says:

    Glad the nurses will be able to help. Glad you’re back to your stubborn self 🙂

  6. Becca Says:

    Hey there – glad you are feeling better. Those nurses have no idea what’s coming their way. And should they give you any trouble, just let me know. I’ll take care of it 🙂

  7. Jennifer D Says:

    Hope the pain patch gives you relief. I’ve had it before and it helped. I’m back on Navelbine and hoping we both have a great response to it. It’s given push and doesn’t need any premeds. Another plus, that the treatment is quick. Prayers and hugs for you. Call anytime if I can help you in any way I will.

  8. Jennifer Gilbertson Says:

    Karissa, We Love You. Mike, We Love You. Ethan, We Love You. Ryan, We Love You. Our Hearts Are Full Of Love And Prayers And Sadness…And Hope. XOXOXOXO


Leave a Reply

